top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris Bray

2022 - Position 6

Updated: Jan 11, 2023


Match Play. Red leads 4-1 to 7. Should Red double? If doubled, should White take?

Obviously for money this is a huge pass. At the match score this is very difficult to judge over the board. It is hugely volatile. Any 6, 51 or 52 loses Red’s market by a country mile whereas 33, 44 and 55 compromise Red’s position.

Technically this is a clear double. It is a blunder not to double. The take is right on the borderline. White can take or pass and retain the same equity. As the stronger player I would pass, as the weaker player I would take and let the dice decide!

108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Website Holiday

I am away in France for the next two weeks so 'Position of the Day' will also take a holiday until Monday June 24th


bottom of page