top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris Bray

2020 - Position 208

Updated: Nov 22, 2020


Match Play. Red trails 8-9 to 13. Should Red double? If doubled, should White take?

Firstly, my apologies. The problem should have stated that the match score was 8-9 to 13. At that score the position is no double/take. Giving white the cube on 2 when he might have a perfectly efficient redouble to 4 later (and thus win the match) should give Red pause for thought.

For money this is a borderline double and a trivial take.

At 8-9 to 11 this is a huge double. At 2-away vs 3-away the rule is “double early as the trailer, drop early as the leader”. Two points get Red to the Crawford Game.

Not doubling is nearly a double blunder but the take is still trivial.

146 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Website Holiday

I am away in France for the next two weeks so 'Position of the Day' will also take a holiday until Monday June 24th


bottom of page