Search
  • Chris Bray

2021 - Position 2

Updated: Jan 6


XGID=---B-ACBB-a-cA-b-d-eBB----:0:0:1:22:2:2:0:5:10


Match Play. Red trails 0-2 to 5. Should Red double? If doubled, should White take?


Another demonstration of the power of the match score.


For money this is a big double and an equally clear take. At this score taking the double would be nearly a triple blunder! Red is not too good double because Red still has a lot of work to do to win the game and you never know, your opponent might make a money game judgement and take the double.


That is precisely what my opponent did, and I was very grateful as I won an easy gammon! Not doubling here is nearly a double blunder.


Mental note for all matches in 2021: “Never forget the match score.”

115 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All