top of page
  • Writer's pictureChris Bray

2021 - Position 2

Updated: Jan 6, 2021


Match Play. Red trails 0-2 to 5. Should Red double? If doubled, should White take?

Another demonstration of the power of the match score.

For money this is a big double and an equally clear take. At this score taking the double would be nearly a triple blunder! Red is not too good double because Red still has a lot of work to do to win the game and you never know, your opponent might make a money game judgement and take the double.

That is precisely what my opponent did, and I was very grateful as I won an easy gammon! Not doubling here is nearly a double blunder.

Mental note for all matches in 2021: “Never forget the match score.”

129 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page